How my life has changed from being a 1st year

As this is my first official blog post (exciting) I didn’t want to start off in the usual manner of ‘Hi, my names Carissa’ (Blah, Blah) but instead I have compiled a list of my first year of university at UWE to how life as a student is now.

Over a month into second year uni life I have come to learn certain life skills that separate a second year from a fresher.
1. University lecturers have more respect for the whole class, seemingly lecturers feel that we actually want to learn unlike a first year who is only here for the parties and socials (Not stereotyping at all!)
2. Having a presence on social media is extremely important (“How will you get a job after your degree if no-one knows who you are”) said by my lecturer on the daily.
3. You, the student have more respect for your lecturers. In second year they are pleasantly surprised you have followed them on Twitter since that first lecture with them. (You may even get a follow back)
4. Living in a house is completely different to living in halls. (Bills, rent… everything you need to know that school and college don’t teach you!) Surprisingly the algebra you were made to take a 2 hour long exam on becomes irrelevant.
5. Friends you make in first year soon become your second family even if you are all a little weird. (Although I wouldn’t change the bunch I call family for the world!)
6. Official titles within the household start to appear, for example ‘House Wench or House Mother’, ‘The lazy One’, ‘The anti-social one’ all of which are found in my household.

 

 

Leave a comment